Period Drama Tag Questions

I’ve decided to do a quick TGIF post to help kick-start the weekend. Woot! Woot! The following is a series of period drama-related tag questions that you can answer either in the comments or on your own blog. I got these questions from the always lovely Old-Fashioned Charm blog.

Tag Questions:

1. What period dramas did you view in January?

War & Peace, Brooklyn, Mr. Selfridge, and Mercy Street. W&P has been ah-mazing, and I anxiously await each Sunday in order to watch this epic story unfold! I’m completely unfamiliar with the plot as I’ve never seen any other version or read the novel, so I can’t speak to the accuracy of it, but it’s definitely an interesting story with even more interesting characters.
Brooklyn was a charming and beautifully told love/coming-of-age story that I definitely recommend you go see!
I’ve been wanting to start watching Mr. Selfridge for quite some time and finally started watching it a little over a month ago, and now I’m already almost done with season 3! There’s definitely been some serious binge-watching going on here. I’m sure the next and final season will be just as great as the previous ones.
The biggest surprise out of all the period dramas I’ve viewed in January has been Mercy Street. First off, It’s an American period drama series set during the Civil War. It’s been so nice to actually watch a period drama set in my home country and with American actors, not that I mind all the British ones I normally watch. Still, period drama series aren’t really done in the U.S., so Mercy Street has been a pleasant, albeit graphic (WARNING: this show is pretty bloody), surprise. Many thanks to The Silver Petticoat Review for introducing me to this show!
Mercy Street PBS 2016
2. What is your favorite Charles Dickens film adaptation?
I’m gonna have to go with Little Dorrit (2008), with Our Mutual Friend (1998)coming in a close second. I really felt for the title character, Amy Dorrit, throughout the entire mini-series. Poor thing was so long suffering! Our Mutual Friend is a lesser know Dicken’s story, but boy is it good. It’s got beautiful love stories mixed with secrets, obsession, and greed.
 3. Would you rather visit Pemberley (Mr. Darcy’s residence) or Downton Abbey (Crawley family residence)? Why?
Downton Abbey for sure. I definitely love all things Pride and Prejudice, but I feel like the Crawley residence is like an actual character in the series. It has so much more meaning and significance than Pemberley, and I hope to one day see the actual Downton Abbey — Highclere Castle — in person.
Downton Abbey Season 3
Downton Abbey Season 3
4. If you could be any character in a Jane Austen novel for a whole day who would you be and why would you want to be that character?
The first character that popped into my head was arguably Austen’s most popular character: Elizabeth Bennet. However, after thinking it over a bit, I decided to go with Anne Elliot because I admire how clear-headed and perceptive she is. She’s had a rough go of it but is not bitter or resentful and possesses a quiet strength that I find admirable.
Persuasion 2007: Anne and Captain Wentworth GIF
Via weloveperioddrama.tumblr.com
5. What period dramas are you looking forward to viewing in February 2016?

I’m looking forward to continuing Mr. Selfridge, Mercy Street, and War & Peace. There aren’t’ really any new releases that I’m dying to see. I know Pride and Prejudice and Zombies comes out this month, but I’m not exactly looking forward to it even though I’ll probably still check it out. For the month of February, I’ll most likely watch older period dramas that I’ve yet to see or finish like Shanghai (2010), Restless (2012), and Indian Summers.

Shanghai 2010 movie: John Cusack
I recently read a review of Shanghai that definitely piqued my interest!

Tag! You’re it! Now, go ahead and answer these questions in the comments. I’d love to see your thoughts. You can also tag me and answer them in your own blog 🙂

Get Posts By E-mail

6 thoughts on “Period Drama Tag Questions

  1. Well, the period drama I saw this month is PPZ, and as you already know, I LOVED it! I had the most fun writing the review too, and I think you’d love the costumes, Tiff. I hope you’d blog about it once you see it. I love your answers! As for an Austen character I’d like to before a day, hmmm tough one, I immediately think of Liz Bennet if Mr Darcy looks like Sam Riley ahahahaha, but in all seriousness, I do like Anne Elliot too, so maybe I’ll go w/ her.

    Like

  2. I can’t answer most of these comments, but I would say that I would like to be Elizabeth Bennett, because I would rather visit Pemberly than Downton Abbey! From the sound of it, Downton Abbey is full of drama.

    Like

Leave a Reply

