18 Period Drama Quizzes for the Taking

I’ve a confession to make. I’m addicted to those silly, non-scientific Buzzfeed and Playbuzz quizzes. It’s a guilty pleasure of mine that’s made even more pleasurable when I happen upon one that’s related to period dramas. With that in mind, I thought I’d take a brief break from period drama fashion to do a fun post on a bunch of period drama-related quizzes.

Period Dramas in a collage
Collage courtesy of gaiamoore.deviantart.com

For each quiz, I’ll let you know my results, and I’d also love to know what you get! You’re obviously not obligated to take every single quiz, but for the one/s you do take, please feel free to share your results in the comments. 🙂

And now, introducing… The Period Drama Quiz Collective, where you can add to the improvement of your mind through extensive quizzing (Prepare yourself for a TON of Jane Austen quizzes #notcomplaining).


Quiz One:

TV Costume Quiz: Are You A Period Drama Expert?

I thought I’d start things off with a quiz that was somewhat related to period drama fashion.

http://www.playbuzz.com/entertainmentweekly/tv-costume-quiz-are-you-a-period-drama-expert

I got 7 out of 8 for this one. Not bad!


Quiz Two:

Which “Mr. Selfridge” Female Are You?

Mr Selfridge BBC

I actually have yet to watch Mr. Selfridge. I know, I know, I need to get on it! It’s definitely on my must-watch list. At any rate, I took this quiz just for the heck of it, even though I’m not familiar with any of the characters.

http://www.buzzfeed.com/leonoraepstein/which-mr-selfridge-female-are-you#.iwl8mB05m

I got Lady Mae: You might sometimes act like you’re better than everyone, but it’s only because you actually are. You are a class act, you know how to get what you want from people, and your style is amazing. All of that can be quite intimidating to others, but your inner circle knows what a soft and kind person you can be.


Quiz Three:

Which Period Drama Should You be In?

http://www.playbuzz.com/ellie10/which-period-drama-should-you-be-in

I got “Call the Midwife”: You’re a perky, glass-half-full kinda person. You probably love cake and look great in a cardigan. You’d fit right in with the midwifes of Nonnatus House.

Hmm… gotta say, that’s not very accurate. Although, I do love cake!


And here come the Jane Austen quizzes! There were plenty of these. Eight total in fact. Enjoy!

Jane Austen Heroines collage
Via fuckyeahjaneites.tumblr.com

Quiz Four:

Which “Pride And Prejudice” Character Are You?

http://www.buzzfeed.com/expresident/a-truth-universally-acknowledged#.rdV6MrnQM

I got Mr. Bingley: You are good-looking and good-hearted. You have a pleasant countenance, and easy unaffected manners. You are loved by all and admired by all, but your affability sometimes causes you to misunderstand the intentions of those individuals that might seek to manipulate you.

Again, not very accurate. I’m definitely not easily manipulated. In fact, I’m usually overly suspicious!


Quiz Five:

Which Jane Austen Heroine Are You?

http://www.buzzfeed.com/jennaguillaume/which-jane-austen-heroine-are-you#.qc6EPLWQP

I got Elinor Dashwood: You’re mature and know when to be serious, but you also have a snarky sense of humour that makes you fun to be around. You’re creative and artistic, and appreciate pretty things. You’re a great listener and really good at keeping secrets, which means you’re a fabulous best friend.

Wow, this is so accurate!


Quiz Six:

Which Jane Austen Hero Is Your Soulmate?

http://www.buzzfeed.com/jennaguillaume/which-austen-hero-is-your-soulmate#.gtbWkjYzk

I got Edmund Bertram: Your soulmate is also your best friend. Edmund will always listen to you and be a shoulder to cry on – and he’ll know just how to cheer you up, too. Sure, he can be a bit serious, but he has strong values, which you can’t help but admire. We’ll just ignore the whole cousins thing, shall we?

Okay, I can dig this. I like Edmund. I think he’s one of the more underrated Austen heroes.


Quiz Seven:

Which Jane Austen Hero Are You Most Like?

http://www.buzzfeed.com/jannieahmed/which-jane-austen-hero-are-you-1nwpa

I got Colonel Brandon: You are a true romantic, a passionate music lover and a true friend. You are a provider. A true hero.

I also had my husband take this quiz (tee hee!), and he got Captain Wentworth: At times justifiably bitter and confused, you are steadfast, strong-willed, and strong-minded. You admire the compassionate. Sounds accurate to me!

Captain Wentworth from Persuasion BBC
My hubby = Captain Wentworth

Quiz Eight:

Which Of Jane Austen’s Heroines Are You?

http://www.playbuzz.com/mollyq11/which-of-jane-austens-heroines-are-you

I got Elizabeth Bennet: You are witty and ingenious, but you can also be as proud, as Elizabeth!


Quiz Nine:

Which Austen Heroine Are You?

http://www.playbuzz.com/mentorpubliclibrary10/which-austen-heroine-are-you

I got Elizabeth Bennet: You are the incomparable Elizabeth Bennet, of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. You are prone to snap judgments, but can admit when you’ve been wrong. Close to your family, you are a caring and emotional person. You believe in true love and will settle for nothing less.

Second time getting Lizzy! Woo hoo!


Quiz Ten:

Do You Remember The Movie “Emma?”

Emma 1996 movie: Emma and Mr. Knightley
Via weloveperioddrama.tumblr.com

http://www.playbuzz.com/thelaststraw10/do-you-remember-the-movie-emma

I got 13 out of 13. I’ve seen this movie a gazillion times, so this quiz was a breeze for me.


Quiz Eleven:

Which Bennet Sister Are You?

http://www.playbuzz.com/cristinaeverett10/which-bennet-sister-are-you

I got Jane: How nice, you got Jane! She is completely lovely inside and out, and so are you. 


We bid adieu to the Jane Austen quizzes, but I’ve rounded up a few Jane Eyre quizzes for your enjoyment!

Jane Eyre BBC 2006: Jane and Rochester
Via weloveperioddrama.tumblr.com

Quiz Twelve:

Which Jane Eyre Character Are You?

http://www.playbuzz.com/oliviaapergis10/which-jane-eyre-character-are-you

I got Jane Eyre: Congrats! You got Jane Eyre, the main protagonist of the story. As the narrator of the book, you tend to believe your point of view is better. You hate when things are unfair and you get something you do not deserve. Persistence and an unwillingness to quit define your character. You stick by your beliefs through all situations, even when your heart is telling you otherwise. Your mind is a great asset which you use often. You prefer to have only a few best friends than a large number of acquaintances. What you really want is to belong and be accepted by the people close to you. 

I’m glad I got Jane. I mentioned my kinship with Jane in a previous post, so I would have been bummed to not get her.


Quiz Thirteen:

What Job Would You Have in “Jane Eyre”?

http://www.playbuzz.com/evanl10/what-job-would-you-have-in-jane-eyre

I got missionary: Just like St. John Rivers, you are dedicated missionary spreading the word of God around the globe. You are very stubborn and orderly, and do not like things to be to disruptive or disobedient.


Quiz Fourteen:

Which Jane Eyre character are you?

This is a different quiz from number twelve, despite it having the same title.

http://www.playbuzz.com/sapded10/which-jane-eyre-character-are-you

I got Jane: You’re our eponymous heroine! You have a good soul and are strong in your beliefs and everything you do. You are a caring person and will give your life for those you love. 


Quiz Fifteen:

If you were Jane Eyre, who would fit you as a husband? Mr. Rochester or St. John?

http://www.playbuzz.com/alexandery10/if-you-were-jane-eyre-who-would-fit-you-as-a-husband-mr-rochester-or-st-john

I got Mr. Rochester. Whew!


Now here’s a couple of delightful Downton Abbey quizzes!

Downton Abbey silly photo

Quiz Sixteen:

Which “Downton Abbey” Character Are You?

http://www.buzzfeed.com/justinabarca/which-downton-abbey-character-are-you#.lryx0e4M0

I got Carson: You like order and tradition, but not in that order. Well, maybe in that order. You also get flustered easily.

Ha! I suppose I do consider myself old-fashioned.


Quiz Seventeen:

Which Downton Abbey Job is Right For You?

http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/masterpiece/quizzes/personality-quiz/which-downton-abbey-job-is-right-for-you/

I got Isobel Crawley: Roll up your sleeves and prepare to get dirty, because Isobel’s charitable jobs are right for you. Your hands-on work for those who need it the most can get you into trouble, especially when you cross the line from leader to bossypants. But while your values or methods may not make you popular, your heart is in the right place. And you back it up with considerable force of will.


And last but not least is this hilarious, silly and rather random Poldark quiz. Don’t ask questions, just answer them. 😉

Don’t mind me. Just sweating, tilling and flexing. All in a day’s shirtless work. (Via weloveperioddrama.tumblr.com)

Quiz Eighteen:

Which Really Sexy Moment From “Poldark” Is Most Like Your Life?

http://www.buzzfeed.com/scottybryan/tell-your-mum-that-you-watch-for-the-drama#.da3jYey1Y

Poldark shirtless GIFI got OH HOLY HELL SEX MACHINE: YOU ARE THE SEX: Literally. Everyone wants to have sexy time in a field, alone. Without this man looking. I mean, are you even looking at these words or just the GIF? I could just write blahblahblahh and you wouldn’t notice right now. Why am I even bothering? I’m so alone.

Ummm…

Well, whatever! Cheers to Poldark and cheers to nonsensical period drama quizzes!

Via Via weloveperioddrama.tumblr.com
Via weloveperioddrama.tumblr.com

Which quiz was your favorite? Please comment below your results! xx

11 thoughts on “18 Period Drama Quizzes for the Taking

  1. For quizzes 5 & 6 (created by the same person), you and received the same results! I am also getting a bachelor’s in English (minor in editing) and I live in SLC, though am originally from Southern California We must be soul sisters or something! 😉 😀 I love your blog! I’ve only just stumbled across it but I hope to keep up with it. Period dramas are one of the greatest joys of life and no one will convince me otherwise 🙂

    Like

  2. I took 3 quizzes. I’m Miss Mardle from Mr Selfridge. Anna from Downton Abbey. For ‘Which Period Drama Should You Be In’, I got Call The Midwives — quite funny, considering I was going to dress up as Nurse Lee for Halloween!

    Like

      1. One of my favourite series! We were all so disappointed when Global decided to axe it. 😦 The movie after the series practically said: sorry, no more Bomb Girls. 😥

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This was fun! Thanks for sharing. I got most of the same results as you did – Lizzy Bennet in two of the Austen quizzes, Charlotte Lucas in a third, Jane Eyre and, yes, Rochester as my appropriate husband, just as well, as St John’s good looks would be of absolutely no use if you married him and went off to Africa. And I got missionary for a job(sorry! I am so anti-missionaries!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

